top of page

It's Christmas Eve Eve...

Its Christmas Eve Eve… and as 2016 begins to draw to a close and I hang up my dancing shoes, close my laptop and tie up any loose ends before the festive break officially commences, I pause to take a look back over a fantastic year. A year filled with growth and development, new opportunities and some wonderful achievements.

This year I have been lucky enough to work on two of the fantastic Join the Momentum projects, delivering movement material to various groups who went on to perform at Magic Weekend (St James’ Park- Newcastle) and Wembley Stadium (London). A marvelous opportunity as a dance artist but I imagine an even better opportunity for the children and young people who performed on the pitches in front of thousands of people!

Other highlights this year have seen fabulous results for my IDTA students at Empowered Studios and SMB Dance- with every student gaining results 80+. Incredible! Students from 4- 16 years have taken IDTA exams in the following dance styles; Ballet, Tap and Musical Theatre. I am really looking forwards to seeing you all progress over the course of 2017 and seeing what we can all achieve!

We also launched our Theatre Dance Competition Team at Empowered Studios this year and it has been a pleasure to choreograph and teach you. Over the course of the year I have seen development, struggles but most importantly your support and encouragement for one another. Lets hope 2017 sees us grow and develop further and welcome new team members.

At SMB Dance I have had the pleasure of creating and working with couples for their first wedding dance. What an honour it has been getting to know them but also getting to create a dance to ‘their’ song that plays such a huge part in such a memorable day for them.

Also, I have had the opportunity to deliver on some great projects with ResiDance- including SummerBash Mob (Blackpool) which saw over 100 children from the Oldham area learn a dance routine that was performed on the pitch at Bloomfield Road, Blackpool. Another, project was Canal Fest in Wigan where I was lucky enough to travel via Canal Boat (it was on my bucket list) from Leigh to Wigan with Leigh Youth Dance before the mass movement performance which included community and school groups I had had the pleasure of working and creating dance movement with.

As the year has drawn to a close, I have launched myself , Amy Greenhalgh Freelance Dance Artist, and some of the fabulous opportunities I can provide to schools and community groups including; curriculum dance, extra curricular dance activities, community & heritage projects and arts award discover & explore projects.

I also work as a choreographer to provide bespoke dances for dance competition & shows and to wedding couples or guests looking to have something special created for their big day. And finally in 2017 I am looking to launch a range of dance parties- watch out for this!

Thank you to all the people who have made 2016 a memorable one and here is to a happy and bright 2017. As someone once said to me ‘Dream BIG’.

Amy Greenhalgh


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page