top of page

Adult Ballet Class

For years it has been a dream of mine to set up an Adult Ballet class allowing me to share my passion for this art with others. Recently I have had the opportunity to do this at SMB Dance International- Knutsford.

It’s almost a week now since the launch and I can’t wait to get back in the studio!

When creating the class the intention was I want to dance for me- which may seem selfish-but when you teach ballet classes to children 99% of the time -which of course I enjoy- I wanted to share my love for what I always describe to the children as ‘real grown up ballet that you do when your older’.

My aim was and still is to create a relaxed comfortable environment for people to take a step out of their busy lives and for 45 minutes come and enjoy the expression of movement.

Dance is a fantastic way of making a positive impact on peoples lives contributing to creative, emotional, mental, physical, social wellbeing.

During the creative process of putting exercises together and searching for music I wanted to create a class that used appealing music (or as I would describe songs people know) along with technique building exercises that will progress over time.

Starting on the barre, class starts with a warm up to Adele’s Rolling in the Deep, followed by Plies (bends & stretches) and battement tendus (pointes & closes) to music composed by the fantastic David Plimpton.

Into the centre we go for a lovely Ports de Bras (carriage of the arms) with classical walks to a personal favourite of mine- Adele’s someone like you. Followed by Balances (waltz like steps) to Just be by Paloma Faith. Into energetic Temps Leves (step hops) sequences from the corners across the room, a turn sequence and a jump combination to Sky Full of Stars recreated by the amazing Piano Guys.

Of course there is more to come as this was just the first class!

I had a brilliant time and came away feeling really positive and like i’d had a good workout. The ladies that attended left smiling, some reconnecting with childhood memories of ballet classes and describing things there teachers used to say. Something I find myself doing!

I loved it!

It’s never too late to learn- what are you waiting for?

Adult Ballet @ SMB Dance International- Knutsford

http://smbdance.co.uk/store/dance-classes/adult-ballet

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page